Canceling an Order
IN THIS GUIDE
Being the middle point between the shopping cart and the fulfillment service, it's common for merchants to want to know how to cancel an order directly in Order Desk so it will also update as canceled in the shopping cart and at the fulfillment service. Since every integration has different settings, requirements and API data, it isn't actually possible to cancel an order in Order Desk, especially not with the intention of it also being canceled everywhere else automatically too.
There are, however, a few exceptions and tips that we can share for handling canceled orders in Order Desk, which we'll go over in this guide.
How does Canceling an Order in Order Desk Work?
Strictly speaking, there is no automatic way to cancel an order in Order Desk. Just moving the order to the canceled folder will not trigger any actions on the order unless a rule has been set up to do something specific with an order that is moved into the canceled folder.
Keep in mind that in Order Desk, folders are places to store and organize orders. Folders can be deleted, edited, renamed, moved around and used for your own customized purposes. Because of this, the canceled folder is just a label for a certain folder and not an event or action that happens to the orders in that folder.
When an order is moved into the canceled folder either manually or automatically by some other means, this movement does not, by default, indicate that a cancel notification has been sent back to the shopping cart or sent to the fulfillment service that has the order.
Integration Specific Details
Each integration has its own requirements and specifications for how to cancel an order. Most fulfillment or shipping services will require canceling from their own app or by contacting them directly by phone or email.
Some shopping carts will accept a cancelation notification from Order Desk if a rule is set up to tell them to cancel when a certain event happens, such as If Order Moved to Canceled Folder, Change Order Status at Shopify to Canceled. Double check our help guides for more information about specific integrations, explore the actions available in the rule builder for your integrations, or contact Order Desk support to find out if this is possible with the integrations you are using.
With some integrations, a Cancel Order button will appear on the order page after it has been submitted to them. With a few exceptions (listed below), these cancel buttons are typically meant to be used immediately after an order is submitted, within seconds, in case the submission was a mistake. Once the order has successfully transferred through to the receiving service, it will start moving through their system and will need to be stopped from their side. If you pressed the cancel order button here in Order Desk, please follow up with the service to make sure it has been canceled, unless the integration specific instructions say otherwise.
It's recommended that any order that has already been submitted for fulfillment be checked on directly with that service to ensure it has been canceled in time.
Integration specific instructions
Amazon FBA: press cancel button, but follow up with FBA to make sure
MWW: if within the first minute or two after the order is submitted, press cancel button; otherwise send email
OIA Global: send email
OneFlow: press cancel button
Progressive Solutions: press cancel button
Resubmitting an Order for Fulfillment
Unless the integration specific instructions say otherwise, to resubmit an order, you will first need to change the order number. This must be done so the fulfillment or shipping service sees a new order number and doesn't reject the order as one they have already received and/or canceled.
To change the order number and resubmit an order, follow these instructions.